Church Of England Primary Academy

Creativity. Friendship. Perseverance



The Governing Body is a team of people who work in partnership with the Headteacher and ‘govern the school’.  They appoint the Headteacher, set and monitor policies, decide how the school should spend its budget, foster good relations with parents, the local community and others, maintain and improve the school premises and make sure the appropriate Curriculum is provided, amongst other duties.  They work as a team and take collective decisions, establishing committees and working parties as they consider appropriate.    

Part of a Governors role is to challenge the Head.  

The three main types of challenge are as follows:-

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure it’s money well spent


Please Click here for more governor details 

Please Click here for details of Governors Registered Interests. 

Please Click here for details of the Governors roles within school.

The Governing Body of Tockwith CE Primary School 2016 to 2017

Chair of Governors              Mrs Sue Corbett


Vice Chair of Governors      Mrs Val Hackforth


Parent Governors                Mrs Lucy Ferrari - Coates

                                  Mrs Tanya Parker 

                                             Mr Jonjo Sanderson   


Co-opted Governors            Mrs Sue Corbett 

                                             Ms Emma Wright

                                             Mrs Val Hackforth

                                             Mrs Katya Kingham 


LA Governors                       Mr Norman Waller   


Foundation Governors         Mrs Janet Marriner  

                                             Mrs Angela Jenkins


Teaching Staff Governor     Miss Elizabeth Bamford


Headteacher                        Mr Justin Reeve


Clerk to the Governors        Mrs Hannah Spurr